All Good Things Must Come To An End

As you all know, I have been doing WordPress plugins and supporting it for the past 6 years. These 6 years of my life, I have been through my polytechnic education, my national service as well as my university education.

I just graduated from university in December 2009 and have been looking for full-time jobs. I am offered a full-time job and will be starting work on 1st February 2010.

I regret to say that I am NOT ABLE to provide support for my plugins anymore due to my full-time job commitment. I will leave this forum open and let the community help one another.

However, I WILL still update my plugins whenever I can and you still can report bugs to me via email and I will try to fix it.

Author Topic: Warning: Your backup folder MIGHT be visible to the public!  (Read 71375 times)

Offline Gazoo

• View Profile
I had this problem and this is how I solved it.  Maybe it can help others.  I received this warning after upgrading to version 2.50 today (I did not have this warning before):

"Your backup folder MIGHT be visible to the public

To correct this issue, move the .htaccess file from wp-content/plugins/wp-dbmanager to /home/username/commondork.com/wp-content/backup-db"

I didn't have an .htaccess file in /wp-content/plugins/wp-dbmanager.  So I created one in the backup-db directory using the information from this post http://forums.lesterchan.net/index.php/topic,1489.0.html.

The easiest way to do this is to copy the code provided by the link above into a file named htaccess.txt then transfer that file to your backup-db directory.  Once it has been uploaded simply change the name of the file from htaccess.txt to just .htaccess.  Browse to your backup-db directory and you should see a 404 error now instead of a directory indexing.

I hope this helps anyone having a similar issue.

Thanks!

Offline aerynlynne

• View Profile
Awesome! Thanks for the heads up.  :D

Offline GaMerZ

• lesterchan.net
  • Administrator