All Good Things Must Come To An End

As you all know, I have been doing WordPress plugins and supporting it for the past 6 years. These 6 years of my life, I have been through my polytechnic education, my national service as well as my university education.

I just graduated from university in December 2009 and have been looking for full-time jobs. I am offered a full-time job and will be starting work on 1st February 2010.

I regret to say that I am NOT ABLE to provide support for my plugins anymore due to my full-time job commitment. I will leave this forum open and let the community help one another.

However, I WILL still update my plugins whenever I can and you still can report bugs to me via email and I will try to fix it.

Author Topic: Page views count skewed by spam commenters  (Read 5273 times)

Offline slobjones

• View Profile
Page views count skewed by spam commenters
« on: 02 August 2009, 19:20 »
Lester, I've found that Post Views has the same problem as every other "popular posts" plugin, in that the page counts are distorted by hits on the blog from spam commenters.

Since the spammers tend to hit the same blog posts again and again, those posts also top the Post Views count.

I was hoping the "Exclude Bot Views" option in Post Views would filter out the spam comment hits, but it doesn't.

Is there any way to prevent this problem, such as filtering the results through Akismet?

Statcounter, Google Analytics and other services ignore spam hits. Why can't Post Views do the same?

I figure if there's any plugin author who can get the job done, it's you.

Thanks.

Offline GaMerZ

• lesterchan.net
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
  • WordPress Version: WordPress 3.0.x
  • Theme Name: lesterchan.net v3.4
Re: Page views count skewed by spam commenters
« Reply #1 on: 03 August 2009, 05:03 »